Header Ads

Victor Moses wins 2017 Footballer of the Year award[See Full List]

At the Nigerian Sports Award 2017 Awards Night on Friday, Chelsea wing-back Victor Moses was named Footballer of the Year (Men) for the second time in his career, repeating the accomplishment from 2013, when he won the Europa League with Chelsea while also helping Nigeria to their third Africa Cup of Nations trophy.

The winner of the Footballer of the year (Men) 2017 is @VictorMoses Victor Moses pic.twitter.com/P6zOcA2cFI
— NigerianSportsAward (@ngrsportsaward) November 17, 2017

This was the sixth edition of the Nigerian Sports Award, with Chelsea players now winning Footballer of the Year (Men) three times. Mikel John Obi won the inaugural honor in 2012, following a fantastic year at Chelsea that saw the Blues win the Champions League.

Moses, who’s getting close to returning to action from his hamstring injury, is also nominated for two different African Footballer of the Year awards this year following his excellent season for Chelsea, during which he reinvented himself as a wing-back and played a key role in the Blues winning the Premier League. You can help him win the BBC’s version of that annual award by voting here.

Sportsman of the year – Aruna Quadri
Sportswoman of the year –
Odunayo Adekuroye
Woman footballer of the year –
Asisat Oshoala
Footballer of the year (Men) –
Victor Moses
Ball sports person of the year –
Evelyn Akhator
Team of the year – D’ Tigress
Wrestler of the year – Odunayo Adekuroye
Special sports person of the year – Hannah Babalola
Discovery of the year – Georgia Oboh
Coach of the year – Akuh Purity
Journalist of the year (radio) –
Anthony Bekederemo
Journalist of the year (TV) –
Promise Efoghe
Journalist of the year (print) –
Lekan Okusan
Photo journalist of the year –
Olusegun Aderinto
Sports governor of the year –
Akinwunmi Ambode and Udom Emmanuel
Sports administrator of the year – Waheed Enitan Oshodi and Daniel Igali
Special recognition – Amaju Pinnick
Lifetime achievement – Pa Fabio Lanipekun (formerly of NTA Sports)

Best sports journalist to come - Obadan

No comments

'; (function() { var dsq = document.createElement('script'); dsq.type = 'text/javascript'; dsq.async = true; dsq.src = '//' + disqus_shortname + '.disqus.com/embed.js'; (document.getElementsByTagName('head')[0] || document.getElementsByTagName('body')[0]).appendChild(dsq); })();